Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Countries are said to be economically successful when they have longer working hours than average. These countries are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. Why is that so? Do long working hours restrict their social behavior?

In my view, I totally agree with this statement. For a country to be economically stable, employees are forced to work longer hours, which results in many consequences. They lose their sense of freedom and always concentrate on work. They forget their social lives, i.e., social behavior, and the ability to socialize with peer groups. This may also lead to social anxiety and depression, as they will be focused more on work and have no time for their health. Their mental health is put at stake, as is their physical health, as there is no time for exercise, which may lead to obesity. We all know this proverb, “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy,” This indicates a person who only concentrates on work and does not spend much time relaxing or playing, making him dull. Being economically successful does not mean that one should not have any social life. With average working time, one can be successful.

From my experience, I would like to state that a person working overtime and constantly striving to complete sales targets, with no personal life, will lead to many psychological problems. A friend of mine used to work for long hours. He even forgot that he has a family to spend time with, as he was deeply focused on his work. This even led to his divorce and health issues due to excessive screen time. He was psychologically affected and has social anxiety.

Thus, I conclude that average working time is more than enough to be economically successful, and people do not need to suffer from social consequences.