Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

Recently, there has been an increasing public concern about crime prevention. This phenomenon has led to an ongoing argument that it is impossible to arrest the spread of crime, which a globally pressing issue. I will express my disapproval for this viewpoint, which will be dissected by contributions of authorities and individuals in the following essay.

It is undeniable that there are several methods from the government to address this societal concern. One major approach is the national investment in security facilities in the whole community. Given the advancements of technology, some security devices such as CCTVs and public cameras could be installed in numerous sites such as shopping centres or banks. These equipments, therefore, would be an effective warning to petty criminals like pickpockets and offer valuable support to police officers when detecting a crime, which fosters the overall security for the residents. Additionally, authorities could also implement the rehabilitation programs for offenders in prison. This program would include vocational training to improve prisoners’ soft skills such as producing goods or clothes and provide essential knowledge for them. After being released, reformed offenders could gain an employment opportunity by means of the hands-on experiences and skills when trained in prison. In the long term, this policy would reduce significantly the growth of crime levels.

Moreover, the significance of contributions for crime prevention from individuals and private organizations should not be overlooked. Some businesses and companies relating to public safety could promote their products by organizing workshops about crime-related knowledge. They could prompt the public’s curiosity by giving a speech of ex-prisoners about the dangers of a criminal lifestyle. This marketing strategy would raise the awareness of individuals, especially those who could be potential criminals to some extent. Futhermore, individuals could also impart knowledge about criminal dangers through social media. It is obvious that there are more and more posts and videos relating to this alarming concern on social media platforms such as Facebook and Youtube. Due to this, these online posters might serve as an educator to the young who are lack in real-life experiences and knowledge.

In conclusion, based on the aforementioned explanations, I firmly believe that there are numerous practical methods to deter crime rates nowadays from both governments and individuals. These contributions would ensure the safety life of the whole community, boosting the growth of better civilization.