Crime rates are increasing in many large cities around the world. What are the reasons for this trend, and what can be done to reduce crime in urban areas?

The number of criminal activities in numerous cities has been rising around the world. The main causes for this trend are poverty of individuals and improper work of the police. This problem can be solved by improving the economy and security of citizens.

One of the main problems contributing to this trend is the lack of money and jobs. When people do not have jobs to support themselves and their families they struggle both financially and mentally. Without a source of income, crime can appear to be the only option for people. As a result, it can push them toward illegal activities in order to survive. For instance, in many metropolitan cities with a small number of jobs unemployed individuals are often involved in crimes. Another important cause is that the local police do not work properly. It is their duty to prevent criminal activities and address this problem, but many of them fail their duties.

To address this issue, governments should focus on creating more employment opportunities. By investing in infrastructure and businesses, more jobs can be created, which would reduce financial pressure on citizens. Consequently, it would eliminate the stimuli for theft and drug-related crimes. For example, the level of crime in developed countries is lower than the level of undeveloped ones because there are fewer financial struggles. In addition, governments should improve the security of people. It could be done by increasing the number of advanced cameras that track citizens’ activities across the cities. In turn, this would help to find criminals and ease the police’s work.

In conclusion, the rising number of crimes is mainly caused by limited job opportunities and improper work of the police. However, this problem can be addressed by generating more job vacancies and improving security.