Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community as well as the government take to meet this demand?

In today’s society, the call for sustenance has grown rapidly all over the world. This essay will demonstrate that the burgeoning population and enhanced living standards are the culprits of this inclination, and contend that a combined collaboration between nations and governmental back-up represent viable remedies for this problem.

One major driver of the increasing demand for food is the growing demographics in recent years. As food is an indispensable component in humans’ life, a surge in sustenance requirement is therefore attached to higher food consumption for human to sustain their lives. In addition, since the overall living conditions of people have been improved, they tend to be enticed to experience a wider selection of food which was considered inedible, such as exotic plants. For example, in Vietnam, a kind of plant known as water lily in western region only was only used for decoration, but it has been eaten by many people after immigration in their daily meals in recent decades. As a result, the boundary for food resources has even expanded over its current perimeter.

However, if this tendency towards food consumption continues, a dire deficit of food sources is inevitable. To address this challenge, international cooperation between nations is essential. Developed countries can hand-down sustainable agricultural techniques to undeveloped ones to help boost productivity and overall outputs, meeting the growing demand for food of their citizens. Furthermore, at the national level, authorities can incentivize agricultural development through sufficient subsidies and installing high-tech equipment such as modern tractors that facilitate labor-intensive farm work. It is also important to educate people about leading an eco-friendly life by cutting down on wastage and utilizing the current food sources more wisely.

In conclusion, rising food demand stems from both skyrocketing population and better living conditions. Only with a joint effort between international communities and governments can a more supportable food system be reached and maintained.