describe a building you have seen that impressed you where it was what it looked like when you saw it and explain why it impressed you

Vietnam has various impressive buildings but for me, the most outstanding skyscraper is Landmark 81, located in the centre of Ho Chi Minh city. If I remember correctly, it was built in 2015 and is currently the highest building in Vietnam, with 81 floors.

This building is inspired by the image of a rising bamboo, referring to the rising prosperity and modernity of Vietnam. It attracts not only domestic but also international tourists, which contributes to the economy of the country. The Landmark is made of glass and is equipped with LED systems, which light up at night and give the tower a beautiful colour.

This tower is a mixed-use project including the bottom half with a commercial centre and the top half occupied by restaurants, lounges and apartments. Therefore, people can either visit the mall or enjoy the splendid view of the city from the restaurants or lounges on higher floors of the building.In my opinion, not only does it contribute to the economy but also brings pride to Vietnam. It is proof that Vietnamese are able to create amazing skyscrapers that can compare to any other country in the world. However, since it attracts too many people, other historical buildings are being forgotten. For example, the younger generation doesn’t recognise the Independence Palace or Saigon Opera house, which has both historical and cultural values of the country.