Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

Although there is an increase of admittance for education, numerous people lack the ability of write and read. It can adversely impact in both of their work lives and social circles. However, The government can tackle this issue by implementing mandatory educational programs.

Without reading and writing skills can lead to a lot of problems in careers and social interaction. This is because individuals may need to communicate with a lot of people especially family members, friends, and co-workers by texting and reading messages and emails.Furthermore, illiteracy can have a poor effect on job performance that it can lead to job dissatisfactions, so that even low positions may need reading and writing skills to provide their families. For instance, who are working as waiters in Thailand must read and write to know the menu and customers’ orders.

The government should deal with these issues by providing compulsory education courses. This is to say the government may set a regulation in which every household must join this program, and collaborate with proper business organizations to train people who can not read and write. As a result, individuals can enhance not only reading and writing but also job skills effectively. For example, in Myanmar, an organization called Green which is the government with NGO collaboration usually holds literacy events every weekend for people who lack writing and reading skills.

In conclusion, Illiteracy such as reading and writing can have a fatal impact on one’s social environment and employment. As a government, teaching essential educational lessons can address these issues.