Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

In modern life, education is increasingly developing. However, nowadays many adults are still illiterate. This problem brings many drawbacks in their lives. And the government should create policies to solve this issue.

On the one hand, there are several disadvantages about illiterate people. This problem limits their accessibility to general knowledge. Normal people can easily read the essay and understand it immediately, but illiterate people find it so difficult to read. It is the biggest disadvantage for people who cannot read and write, and illiterate people seem challenging to develop themselves, due to the knowledge that comes from books and websites on the internet. Moreover, it can limit job opportunities because reading and writing skills are basic requirements. These companies require that people have some fundamental skills, so they can do the assigned work.

On the other hand, to increase literacy rates, the government should offer many policies. Charity organizations are a great idea because not all people can afford to study, so local authorities might hold extra classes, supporting them to learn and especially offering free tuition. The government should also encourage these people to take part in education. Furthermore, educational infrastructure, such as schools and roads, must be built and renovated so that people from all around may conveniently attend educational institutions. In Vietnam, many ethnic children cannot be learnt due to bad facilities and road conditions. Therefore, infrastructure should be one of the first areas that need repairing.

The lack of basic abilities like writing and reading will undoubtedly greatly limited about knowledge and career path. However, there are many solutions could eliminate illiteracy and open up a bright future for them.