Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

In the contemporary era, with the advancement of education, there still remain many people who do not have the ability of writing and reading. This essay discusses the drawbacks and gives several solutions to tackle this problem.

There are numerous disadvantages of illiteracy. To begin with, the most obvious is the limited knowledge of residents. Indeed, reading is the most efficient and easiest way to access news and resources; therefore people who can not read or write may lose various valuable materials, leading to a significant knowledge gap . For example, they will miss out on abundant news and rights that have been updated recently. Furthermore, illiterate individuals face a large number of barriers in their life . Since reading or writing skills play a crucial and essential role in working effectively to reach a number of achievements. Therefore, they will struggle with their financial problems if they can not read or write. To illustrate, many companies tend to require a degree and a qualification to hire for working, they have fewer opportunities than other residents.

In order to address this issue, the government needs to propose a number of solutions. Initially, the policy should give different ways for illiterate individuals to update news without reading any information. For instance, the government ought to invest in TV programmes and radios to allow these residents to understand important reports easily by listening. Another way is the amount of the government fundings to open various classes which teach how to read and write for people not knowing them. Thus, with fluency reading and writing, they can study with higher degrees, which provide them with a stable work and life. Such as Vietnamese classes in 1954, helping people understand reading and writing to remove this problem, which are considered as a path for the economic growth in the future for not only a person but also this country.

In conclusion, the lack of radical skills like reading and writing brings numerous demerits including the huge gap of knowledge and having an unstable life. Hence the government should spend more money on programmes accessible by ears without reading and hold a lot of classes offering ways to read and write.