Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

It is true that in spite of many technological advancements that help access education better, a number of adults are still illiterate. This phenomenon can lead to many drawbacks, and this essay will suggest several viable solutions that authorities can use to support adults.

The illiteracy of many adults can exert negative implications on their lives. First and foremost, it may hinder the opportunities to obtain well-paid jobs. In fact, those who cannot read or write would find it challenging to compete with those who are literate in order to achieve high positions in a company, as these positions require basic literate skills. For example, my uncle, who had not learned how to write or read when he was small, still has to work under his younger leader’s guidance, although he has more knowledge and experience than his manager who achieved a university degree. Furthermore, adult illiteracy can pose a threat to their health, since they can struggle to fully understand the instructions of their medications and prescription labels, resulting in higher rates of accidents, or even deaths in worst-case scenarios.

There are three main ways that policymakers can use to help illiterate adults. First, they can organize adult education programs. Governments can offer flexible schedules or several online courses for workers, so they can still take part in these classes without affecting their working lives. Moreover, authorities can organize a number of awareness-raising campaigns about enhancing the level of literacy of adults. Finally, governments can apply several laws to support managers of enterprises to encourage companies to help employees improve their literacy skills.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of adults who are illiterate can give rise to lower well-paid employment opportunities and higher chances of advertently getting into accidents when they do not understand fully their medications and prescription labels. As such, governments should apply the mentioned solutions to remedy the situation.