Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

Although people nowadays have the better potential to access education, they still could not read and write. From my perspective, these adults would face numerous problems in their life. Therefore, I strongly believe that the authorities should create some solutions to deal with this issue.

In modern life, people without literacy tend to experience a lot of problems. First and foremost, they could not pass the entry-level of company or international corporation. To be more specific, because of lacking reading and writing skill, they may not match company’s demands and therefore resulting in losing their job opportunities. Furthermore, these people could not be exposed to the newest and cutting-edge technologies. Those innovations might be difficult to use if people do not have an in-depth knowlegde about these techs. Smartphones, for example, are the devices which improve our life in studying and working. However, many adults lack the skills in reading and writing could not utilize these electronic devices and leading to the out-of-date thinking.

After mentioning some problems, I think that the officials should give some solutions to tackle this issue. To begin with, governments could provide some educational programs for citizens regardless of age and financial conditions. As a result, people would have more motivation to engage in schools since they are supported not only by government but also society. Secondly, the authorities could raise citizens’ awareness of studying and its importance. This can change people’s mindset.

In conclusion, many people would witness a huge range of problems in their life if they are illiteracy. Therefore, governments should take action by giving many educational programs and raising individuals’ awareness of studying to solve their issue.