Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

In this increasingly interconnected world, education has become an undeniable force in contemporary society, deeply embedded in our daily lives. Although the increased accessibility to education is widely acknowledged, many adults remain illiterate. This phenomenon can impact their lives in several detrimental ways. However, government intervention can mitigate these challenges by providing practical support to help these individuals acquire literacy skills.

To begin with, lack of literacy skills negatively influences an individual career opportunities. To be specific, numerous jobs nowadays require basic literacy skills along with experience and degrees in job-related fields. For instance, research indicates that those who are illiterate are more likely to suffer from societal risks such as unemployment or low-income positions in this competitive labor market. Moreover, without the ability to read books, documents, and other information resources that contain a wealth of accumulated knowledge, individuals are unable to develop essential life skills and broaden their experience, and understanding of the world. Consequently, this not only limits a worker’s personal growth but also impedes the development of vision, restricting their quality of life.

However, these matter of concern can be tackled by the government measurements aimed at the illiterate problem. First, launching free literacy classes campaigns to provide basic knowledge for those who lack literacy. This not only enhances their language development, and advances in thinking but also develops a strong sense of community. For instance, in Vietnam, numerous classes are held across the country, particularly in rural and remote areas where illiteracy rates are high. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that campaigns promote a supportive and non-judgemental learning environment that can significantly assist illiterate individuals in producing more imaginative responses and fully developing themselves.

In conclusion, literacy deprives individuals of both personal and professional opportunities, limiting their access to valuable knowledge and confining them to low-wage jobs. Governments can combat these disadvantages through free literacy classes, and awareness campaigns, thereby fostering a more inclusive and educated society.