Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

It is a fact that literacy rates are still really low, and many still cannot read or write, despite the development of education. As a result, this issue may bring about some disadvantages to people, and governments need to take action to tackle this problem.

To begin with, low literacy rates exert detrimental impacts on many aspects in people’s lives. Firstly, people who cannot read or write may suffer from peer pressure. In particular, in this modern world, such people may find that it is really hard to integrate with communities. Moreover, they may be made fun of or even bullied people surrounding them, because of their weakness. Secondly, people with literacy difficulties may become a victim of crimes. To be more specific, people may be scammed to sign in several illegal commitments, if they cannot read. As a matter of fact, many take advantages of such people to store money. Hence, people with this difficulty may suffer from many drawbacks.

Therefore, the government need to take steps to address this phenomenon. To begin with, the government may make education free for everyone. In fact, many with financial difficulties or those living in rural areas cannot assess to education, in lights of education fees. Therefore, if education is free for people, they can go to schools. As a consequence, it may give rise to the higher literacy rate. Furthermore, the government should raise people’s awareness of the importance of education. In particular, education is the key, which helps people have a better life. For instance, the government may run campaigns, which are not only in public, but also on social medias to encourage people to study.

In conclusion, while people are not able to read and write will have to suffer from numerous disadvantages regarding peer pressure and being a victim of crimes, there are several remedies, which the government can do to solve this matter in terms of making education free for everyone and raising people’s awareness of their necessary of education.