Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

In this day and age, education is accessible for everyone, yet many adults struggle with illiteracy. This essay gives reasons why this might be a significant obstacle to illiterate individuals and methods that can be applied by the government to support them in learning how to read and write.

Firstly, a lack of reading and writing skills could result in negative impacts. The ability to recognize letters plays a key role in working opportunities, because of this, there are few job vacancies which allow their employees to be unable to read or write. Therefore, those who are illiterate can only facilitate heavy works with a decent income. This not only limits their ability to find a well-paid job but also adversely affects the growth of the economy since investors find it a challenge for them to put their time and effort into such a country that has a high rate of illiteracy.

According to this situation, the local authorities should take some actions in order to facilitate them in learning how to read and write. By opening more local educational centers, influences can be made so that illiterate people would find it approachable to attend in these classes. Furthermore, the work of the illiterate employees should be ensured that their working schedule will not be disturbed by holding these classes in flexible timelines. Moreover, it is considerable to develop mobile applications to support their learning which would be more convenient for every individual.

In conclusion, being unable to read and write might contain vast merits such as job opportunities, which lead to a decline in the economic development of a country. Hence, the local authorities should consider encouraging individuals to access local classes by ensuring their benefits.