Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

While education is being made available, the problem of illiteracy among adults remains. There are several drawbacks hindering the lives of such people and implementations to tackle this situation.

Illiterate adults can experience several life struggles. One of the most destructive disadvantages can be poor employment. As today’s job standards are getting more demanding, these individuals become unprivileged and less worthy of a long-term career. Consequently, the chances of unemployment for this minority become high, thus deteriorating their living conditions. Another issue illiterate grown-ups might face is difficulties in perceiving and expressing information. For example, on a daily basis, these people struggle to comprehend text-written news or communicate via letters or texting. In such cases, they are more likely to be disadvantaged while getting themselves across to others.

Several methods are feasible for the government to confront this phenomenon. Firstly, the authorities can offer illiterates more labor jobs, such as construction development. Through this provided availability, unemployment will matter less, and the range of career opportunities will expand for these individuals; therefore benefiting both sides. Secondly, charge-free programs can be conducted to assist those who are illiterate. Establishing non-profit classes on the ability to write and read, for instance, can facilitate and encourage them to approach life changes and improve their social connections.

In conclusion, there are various disadvantages for the illiterates to undergo in life such as the risk of unemployment and poor communication. However, the problem can be managed through job opportunities or education. I believe the sooner governments apply the solutions, the better our society will be.