Despite significant scientific progress made over the last few decades, there are still a number of health problems around the world today. What are these major health problems? Should governments spend more money on prevention or on treatment?

In contemporary society, although science has made significant progress in the previous decades, a number of health-related issues persist across the globe. I believe that post-infection conditions and dementia are of primary concern, and governments should allocate funds on the prevention of these challenges.

One major health problem that requires attention is post-infection conditions. Post-infection conditions are often debilitating symptoms that appear once an acute phase of an infection is over, such as COVID-19 and influenza. This is particularly concerning because many people, including medical professionals, tend to believe that it is normal for patients to feel unwell for some time after initial symptoms subsided. As a result, patients’ concerns may be dismissed that symptoms would disappear over time, despite reports that many with the conditions were unable to return to work or school due to lasting symptoms. Another health issue to take account of is dementia, an incurable decline in patients’ cognitive abilities, because there is no established cure to fully restore the cognitive abilities lost owing to the condition; therefore, it becomes impossible for patients to look after themselves, let alone return to work or support a household. Taken together, both of the conditions deserve attention due to debilitating outcomes patients experience.

To address these issues, it is imperative that governments direct financial resources on the prevention. Regarding post-infection conditions, practical measures individuals can take is not to get infected. This could range from wearing a mask in crowded spaces and staying at home when they are feeling sick, but vaccination also plays a critical role in protecting themselves from infections. Governments, therefore, should invest heavily in developing effective vaccines and encouraging individuals to get vaccinated. On dementia, governments should focus on educating their citizens about the importance of prevention of the condition. In general, regular exercise and sufficient sleep can reduce the likelihood of developing dementia; governments could promote these healthy habits by utilizing advertisement on television and social media.

In conclusion, governments should shore up their financial support for the prevention of post-infection conditions and dementia due to their negative impact on patients; measures such as recommending citizens to receive vaccination and maintaining healthy lifestyles could be an effective approach to these issues.