Differences between countries are becoming less evident. People can see the same films, brands, ads and TV channels. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, countries have become more identical, and people have consumed from the same companies and have watched the same contents on television. This essay believes that the drawbacks of this statement outweigh the upsides.

Firstly, however, globalization is considered as beneficial for some aspects it is a great threat for the identity, which differ states from the traditional point of view. Furthermore, every country has its own sorts of films and television programs, whereas as differences between nations have become less evident, they have been neglected by viewers, and this is a disadvantage for the local cinema industry. Moreover, the increasing demand for eminent brands has damaged the reputation of local shops, and because of the professional marketing strategy and promotion, customers have been lured to these companies. Thus, these kinds of demerits outweigh the advantages. For example, according to the latest report of the Ministry of Economics in Turkey, in 2019, 60 percent of local businesses went bankrupt owing to the unfair competition with global brands.

On the other hand, losing the identification is very profitable for companies, because in this way they rise the number of their potential clients, and it made them to stay afloat. Also, they attract people’s attention with various advertisements and open new shops in different parts of the world. Besides, films of famous actors and actresses are released in the online platforms such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, and Hulu, and their fans subscribe these sites and watch the films. So, these benefits are very unpleasant for traditional channels. For instance, since 2020 the percentage of subscribes of Netflix have increased 54 percent.

In conclusion, although globalization is good for chain businesses, it causes the losing of identification in states, and destroys the reputation of traditional shops and contents. Nevertheless, people prefer famous films and brands, and lose their interest for local ones.