Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home and give your own opinion.

In the modern era, young individuals increasingly prioritize working from home over office-based employment. Whilst home-based work helps cut costs and save time, we should not ignore its drawback, which is social isolation.

It is important to acknowledge merits that come with a working from home, with cutting costs and saving time. When people work at home remotely, they can save both money and time. To be more precise, in traditional office work, employees spend money on transportation and sometimes on lunch. However in home-based work individuals do not incur such expenses and gain abundant amount of time to complete projects and tasks. IT workers would be a good example of this. They stay often at home devising programs, without spending money and dealing with rush hour traffic. Therefore, most young people prefer working from home due to this advantage.

On the other hand, this trend is seen in a negative light, mainly because working remotely can result in social vulnerability. In other words, home-based work requires staying at home, which limits communication. Employees who work at home, can become isolated from colleagues and community and breaking down connections. As a result, people may experience stress and depression which can lead to some mental problems including anxiety disorders. Pandemic in 2019, for instance, locked up all people indoor making people isolated, increasing feelings of isolation. In some cases, 100 middle aged individuals die by suicide because of high-level of stress and depression.

To conclude, although remote working offers benefits such as saving money and time, its drawback of isolation is far more significant, because of harmful influence on people’s well-being.