Discuss the ethical implications of always telling the truth, even in difficult situations. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this statement.

Speaking the truth to someone always seams to be a difficult task , especially if the person is very close . The level of honesty towards opinion ,response and answers reflects our ethics . This essay explores the advantages and disadvantages of giving an honest answer.

There are several benefits of telling the truth , even in tough situations , and increase in the level of trust would be one of them . for instance , A study from texas state university suggest that whenever an individual is giving an honest opinion on any topic , it creates a level of trust towards other people . This is because , honesty is an positive threat which attracts other people . Likewise , By speaking the truth , It assists to create good image of an individual among his or her family , co-workers and friends . due to the fact that they will be know he or she will not lie ,and not choose a side for his or her better interest.

However , There are several drawbacks of being too honest , and difficulty in maintaining a good relations with other would be one of them . This is because , Always speaking the truth could hurt the feelings of others . for example , a employee is always honest and delivers his opinions without any hesitation , but he hates his boss . then , it might be very difficult to maintain a good relation with the boss . Similarly , A person who tells the truth can make a certain situation even worse . since , a liar can lie to give assurance to others when they are going through a rough time , which a honest person cannot .

In conclusion , honesty helps to build good character among others ,and can increase the level of trust .however, it can also contribute to make a relationship difficult to maintain , and can make situation even worse . but still the world should not run on a basis of lies.