Do children behave better when they are physically punished or rewarded?

The question regarding physical punishment of children has been thoroughly investigated in recent times, and particularly in the last few decades. The shift from a traditional point of view to one more focused on human rights and individual sensibilities has deeply impacted the way that parents try to educate the youth. I believe that, before offering a definitive opinion, it is necessary to outline some of the main benefits and drawbacks of corporal punishment.

To begin with, some educators may decide to instill a strong sense of discipline into the minds of their children. With regards to this effort, such reprimanding techniques might be seen as a quick and effective way to instruct the youngsters to behave properly. Furthermore, it has been suggested that parents who have not been trained accurately tend to be too lenient towards their offspring. Thus, physical punishment would be a good measure to counter their inclination to spoil the youngest members of their family.

However, it must be noted that, apart from the flaws in the previous arguments, there are several critical elements regarding such means of punishment. Firstly, hitting a child raises some ethical questions, and the matter of human rights is assuming an increasingly important role in our society. Secondly, hurting a minor would imply the risk of causing serious injuries, and that is certainly an unwanted eventuality. Finally, the parents must have in mind the best interest of their children and the long-term consequences of their own actions. The display of violence might traumatise the youngsters instead of educating them, and this would inevitably end up affecting society in general.

In conclusion, I believe that, although theoretically characterised by some potential benefits, physical punishment has a negative effect on the ones it is directed to and has a detrimental effect rather than a positive one.