Do you believe that professional athletes make good role models for young people?

Through the years professional athletes have influenced much on society, especially, on the youngest generation. On the one hand, it contributes to creating strong and healthy habits in peoples’ minds, but on the other hand, professional sport has some profound disadvantages, which I’m going to describe below.

The major point is that in the era of global technology individuals are used to spend most of their time in gadgets and social networks. This tendency of digitalization seems to increase, children from their first seconds of life have phones in their hands. The brains of modern people are overwhelmed with the information, therefore professional sportsmen can demonstrate right directions in the physical development. It may inspire teenagers to build strong body and take up any kind of sport.

However, on the contrary, professional sport almost always comes with health problems, both physical and mental. While watching on the perfect performances of the ‘star-sportsmen’, youngsters can receive wrong comprehension of the human’s body and its abilities. Their firstly harmless intension to be similar to their idols may turn into the obsession on the appearance, what leads to mental illnesses and misunderstanding of their own bodies.

To conclude, from my point of view, professional athletes are definitely good examples of healthy lifestyle, going for sports and staying in a healthy shape. But there are some profound drawbacks.