Do you believe that professional athletes make good role models for young people?

In these days, most young people tend to imitate their own role models. Is it completely true? This essay will dispute this situation and give its own position.

Trying to look up to role models is occuring in young people. Particularly, they usually take professional athletes as an ideal role model. Generally, we may consider that athletes can be a good role model for the young people. Because of the fact that, sport has a great deal of benefits for people. Thus, the young people also do the same actions like their role models. This also cause that these young people also can turn out to be professional athlete like their role model. In this way, they can gain many rewards and reputations. This might profit to a society and country’s status.

On the other hand, being as role models might not be always advantageous. It depends on what role model they choose. Because, not every athlete is perfect as we expect. That’s to say, they might have poor habits, such as being addicted to drugs and narcotics. Whereas young people may regard this as a common habit. Furthermore, they can drink alcoholic beverages imitating their role models. It should be also mentioned that, the young people who imitate their role models may treat others arrogantly.

In conclusion, I agree that it is adviseable for the young people to look up to role models. However, they should not take their bad habits. They should acquire only good tendencies.