Do you think prison sentences should vary depending on a person's age? Discuss and share your opinion

Nowadays many people consider that incarceration should change depending on a humans age. From my perspective, without incarcerations there would be chaos on earth because of impunity. However, in spite of this I partly agree with this position.

On the one hand, I am of the opinion it is a person’s age that should influence prison sentences because children are not fully mature, therefore they usually commit crime without thinking about the consequences. For instance they can be influenced by friends or society. Friends can force them to make a crime or society or them entourage may bully him what could lead to serious actions, such as mass shootings. Accordingly children do not commit a crime just like that, always have a problem even if everyone think that everything is normal. Because of this count should receive shorter sentences and more programs in essence, education in prison or correctional works.

On the other hand, adults usually realize their behavior, particularly if they do not have any mental disorders. They can understand the consequences of commit a crime and make conscious decisions. It should pay attention now without consequences rather than do nothing and regret. Therefore, they should generally face stricter sentences compared to children, as they are fully responsible for their behavior.

In conclusion, although the seriousness of a crime is vital when deciding a prison sentence, a person’s age and physical or mental condition should also be taken into con sideration. Therefore, I believe that prison sentences should sometimes vary depending not only the type of crime but also on age of the offender, in order to achieve both justice and social stability