Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is not uncommon to see some children spend an excessive amount of time on their smartphones daily. Reasons why they do it vary, and I believe it is a change for the worse.

The primary reason to explain the prevalent use of smartphones among children is entertainment. Children have instant access to an extensive range of online recreation options such as music, mobile games, social media, movie streaming platforms on their mobile devices. Being readily available, entertainment makes smartphones tempting for children, causing them to spend an inordinate amount of time on their mobile phones daily. Changes in the education system is one other major catalyst for the growing use of smartphones among children. While in the past electronics were generally prohibited for educational purposes, they are now welcomed in as well as outside the classroom. In this sense, a shift in attitudes towards electronics in the context of education has prompted the prevalent use of smartphones among young students.

Despite these reasons, I share the view that the constant use of smartphones among children is an unfavorable change. This is primarily because smartphones can be a source of distraction. The availability of unlimited entertainment on these devices distracts children from their studies and extra-curriculars. As a result, they develop idle behavior and short attention span, which is not only detrimental to their academic performance, but also to their personal growth. More concerning is a decline in children’s overall health from smartphone overuse. The excessive use of smartphones is known to lead to sedentary lifestyle – followed by bad posture and obesity. As well as their physical health, children’s mental wellbeing is also at stake. Mental health issues arise due to daily exposure to social media: it magnifies the negative effects of peer pressure, causing depression and sadness.

In conclusion, easy access to entertainment and changing trends in education are the main reasons behind the rising use of smartphones among children. I, however, consider this trend to be a negative one seeing as smartphones are distracting, and they impair children’s overall health.