Doctors are concerned that older adults are not getting enough exercise. What are the causes of this? What can be done to prevent it?

In modern society, exercising and taking care of our body is a popular and trendy topic these days, but individuals cannot separate a portion of their days for exercising, so professionals are worried about their health conditions. In this essay, I will elaborate on the causes and how to prevent it.

There are various reasons why people do not exercise regularly. Firstly, people don’t quit bad habits; for instance being addicted to social media apps such as Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube. Thus, instead of planning a time for exercise and taking care of their physical health and fitness and signing in to gym, Pilates, yoga, and jogging, they are tempted to spend that time on these apps. Secondly, older adults have a significantly busy life, spending the majority of their day working and running errands and the rest of it with their families and friends. Therefore, they don’t know how to plan, manage their time and prioritize exercising.

There are several actions that can be taken by the government to prevent this issue and make positive impacts on older adults’ habits. A prime example is putting good-quality equipment in public places such as parks and office buildings. If the government provides various facilities in these places, adults could utilize their free time exercising instead of killing time. Moreover, they can encourage influencers to advertise a healthy lifestyle, taking diets, and going to the gym since they have a huge impact and influence on people. Finally, the government should build public gyms and make sign-in fees cheaper than private ones so other people with poor financial stability can attend too.

In conclusion, having bad habits and not prioritizing exercising makes doctors concerned, but by making gym machines cheaper and more accessible in public, we can face this challenge and mitigate it.