Does advertising influence our choice as consumers? If yes, what effect does it have on our lifestyle?

According to mass media, one of the topics that interests quite a lot of people in society is whether commercials affect the purchasing options of customers or not. I think it is highly emotive issue. In my opinion, adverts play a crucial role in altering a purchaser’s choice.

To begin with, advertisements have a negative impact on the society. To embark with, one common reason which I use to prove is that commercials influence consumers to buy unnecessary products, consequently, putting them in debt. Thus, it is a financial burden for the society. Furthermore, it promotes things like alcohol as well as fast foods resulting in bad eating habits. For instance, children watch commercials of fast food being promoted and later they demand to consume it, consequently, harming their health.

Although advertisements put negative influence, however, it also has positive impacts. Firstly, adverts provide awareness regarding new products which might be of importance to them. Moreover, it also gives information when there is an introduction of new government policies and schemes. For instance, advertisements regarding polio drops make the society aware about the harmful effects of not vaccinating their child properly.

In conclusion, I believe that the negative effects outweigh the positive effects of advertising on consumers in several ways. So, companies should understand their obligation and produce adverts which influence the whole society in a good way.