Due to developments in science and technology, the lifestyles of people across the world are becoming more and more similar to each other. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, there have been many advancements in science and technology which has made everything more efficient. Nowadays, the lifestyle of people across the globe has been influenced by this development which results in similarity between the cultures and traditions. However this essay will involve the merits and demerits of the given statement.

There are number of benefits of the global similarity. To commence with, it will get easier to travel anywhere around the world without having the background knowledge of that country. For example, when there will be similarities in tradition and culture, a person may not find it difficult to get settled in that nation. Also people can quickly adapt to an unknown environment without requiring much efforts . Secondly, there will be no differences in language, so it will become easier to communicate with people of other countries and language will not be a barrier anymore. Thirdly, people will travel more frequently to their dream destination without having a fear about food and lifestyle

Having mentioned the merits of global similarity doesn’t mean that there are no disadvantages; perhaps there are. To begin with, there will be no cultural differences which is the source of income for many countries. For example, India is known for its cultural diversity, and hence it attracts tourists. Additionally, the traditions which are identity of a nation or an individual will be lost. For example, some of the tribes are known because of their traditions and if there will be no differences they will lose their identity.

In conclusion, there are several disadvantages of having similar lifestyles but it is not all negative though. The benefits of having less differences in culture, tradition and lifestyle suggests that people will live happily together .