Due to the increase in population in big cities, more and more people are living in small houses with very little or no outdoor space. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days number of people in big sites enlarged, because of that some individuals have to live in small places without almost any additional space. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to some social issues.

One serious problem that can cause increasing number of people in big city is inflation. Price of foods and clothes might rose, but the most importantly folks may no longer afford an average or big sized house due to the price rising. For example, price for a house in Madrid expanded 5 times in the past decade (from 20000$ to 100000$). At present, most people has a salary which is lower than average, therefore they have to live in a small place or in the place that they can afford.

Another issue can be in decrease of the general wellbeing of the human beings. People need space to relax and unwind, and a lack of such space can make the home environment feel oppressive and claustrophobic. Living in a such cramped place may lead to stress and anxiety and even to a depression. There are several situations when humans attempted suicide due to the lack of personal space and feeling claustrophobia. For instance, there are flats called “Black-box” in Hong Kong where only 15 square metres are allocated to each person. This place is actually looks like a mall box where a person can only sleep,eat and study. There is not a space there for a toilet and bath. As a result of that, more than 100 self-destruction happened there in 2023.

In conclusion, although the overflow of population in big cities has become a tendency, it has brought so many problems to the folks.