Due to the rapid technological development, new career options have emerged such as online store owners, and vloggers. People become less willing to work in a workplace. Do you think the advantages of having a 'virtual' career outweigh its disadvantages?

In recent years, the outstanding progress of modern technology has facilitated a shift in work dynamics, allowing many workers to perform their jobs online; therefore, they become less willing to work in an office. From my perspective, I think the benefits of this tendency eclipse any possible shortcomings.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the trend brings about some disadvantages. The first one is the limitation in communication and interaction between employees and leaders or employees and their co-workers. This is because people have to exchange information through phone calls, email or texts. This leads to some misunderstanding, and can reduce connectivity within the company. Another drawback is that managers might have difficulty monitoring and ensuring project progress due to geographical distance. In other words, they may not be able to track the progress to provide support when needed. Consequently, the productivity and quality of work projects can be affected negatively.

However, the cons as discussed above are outstripped by the pros. First and foremost, working at home allows workers to engage in multiple jobs and projects. As a result, multitasking might increase an employee’s income, skills, and ultimately improve their quality of life. Secondly, businesses that allow employees to handle work from home and use their own advanced technology can reduce the company’s operating costs. This means that companies can still operate with fewer employees in the office, as organizations need less space, facilities, taxes, and amenities. For this reason, employers can use these savings for other important projects and activities of the enterprise.

To conclude, I am convinced that the advantages of working remotely outweigh the disadvantages.