During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

it is true that young people today show less interested in outdoor activities in natural environment compared to previous generations. Although this concerning trend can be attributed by several factors, I believe that it could be addressed by vitals solutions from both the government and families,

There are some main reasons that explain why adolescents spend less time on outdoor activities. With the rapid advancement of technology, a wide range of electronic devices are released, which can easily access internet content entertainments, ranging from online games to short videos. These digital products are processed to capture the attention of many individuals and satisfy their taste, particularly young people. Therefore, most of teenagers prefer to stay indoors with a smart phone or computer and play online games or browse social media rather than engaging in physical activities outdoors. Additionally, academic pressures from parents and teachers are also contributed to the less time for outdoor activities of teenagers. In this day and age, having a well-pay job in the future is a concerning of parents, making them put good grade pressure on their children. Some researches show that younger individuals today spend around 7 to 8 hours for studying, making them have no time for physical activities outdoor.

In order to address this issue, some solid solutions will be put forward, which both the government and families play a crucial role. Foremost, local authorities should encourage teenagers engaging in outdoor activities by organizing outdoor events and promoting nature-based activities through schools and community centers. This include arranging field trips to nation park or setting up adventure camps during holiday, promoting adolescents’ enthusiasm with nature and physical activities. Secondly, parents should lead by example and encourage their children to participate in outdoor activities as family. They could plan weekend outing or join local hiking groups, this not only fosters a love for nature in their children, but also enhancing children practice experiences, creating them interested in the next experience.

In conclusion, many culprits are attributed to the spend less time on outdoor activities in younger persons. However, i personally think that this problem could be addressed by several solid solutions from both the government and families.