Economic development cannot be promoted in parallel with environmental preservation. Express your opinion on this statement.

In recent years, the economic development is the key component to both the nation’s growth and its citizens’ quality of life. However, it seems that we have also been paying for our prosperity with the environment. There have been debates heated on whether economic development and environmental protection can be promoted simultaneously or not. From my point of view, these two aspects are not completely incompatible and can be mutually reinforcing provided that we cooperate in reaching the goal.

It is undeniable that the economic development can bring about many benefits. Firstly, the stability and prospertiy of the economy can help to enhance our living standards and improve the nation’s other standards, such as agriculture, technological advancements and military power. Paradoxically, the growth of the economy comes at a cost: the environment. The excessive exploitation is currently a catalyst contributing to natural resource’s deplement. Additionally, the factories are holding responsibility for the alarming rate of carbon footprint and the discharge of chemical waste. These acts and many others exert a devastating impact on the existance of our environment. Therefore, the economic development and environmental pollution can be conflicting.

On the other hand, developing the economy without investigating environmental degradation is feasible. People are becoming more and more aware of the crucial role that the environment plays. They are mostly familiar with environmentally friendly products and turning away from the companies that are only interested in making profits rather than the surroundings. For instance, the prevalance of electronic bicycles amongst Vietnamese can embody this situation. Furthermore, the governments should also throw their weight behind the environmental issues. They can introduce a law to enforce the companies to curb their carbon emissions, confine their utilization of natural resources and refine chemical waste before releasing them.

In conclusion, to maintain the balance between economic development and environmental preservation, people must be environmentally conscious, not only to save the Earth but also to attain a sustainable prosperity.