Economic progress is one way to measure the success of a country. Some people believe there are other factors. What other factors should be considered? Of these other factors, one is the more important than others?

People have considered that focusing on economic growth is the most important orientation for a nation to be successful while others argue that various aspects play an irreplaceable role which should not be ignored. This essay will explore some possible factors which enhance the economy and indicate the main feature.

To begin with, the property of a nation should not be only determined by the growth of the economy. It is true that the standard of living of residents clarifies a viable perspective behind the success of a country compared to the development of the economy. That is because the greatest achievement of a country is ensuring the quality of life of residents. The nation with the largest economy such as America holds a very high GDP but there are still homeless people that cannot have a comprehensive life. Moreover, a noticeable rate of happiness is also an indispensable part which shows how successful a nation is. Many countries in the EU alliance do not hold a high ranking about the economy but are evaluated as a successful country because the rate of happiness or the residents are always kept highly.

In my perspective, a dominant rate of happiness is the most accurate description of a nation. It is undeniable that the happiness of residents is a result of a variety of factors such as strong finance, high standard of living or well-rounded welfare and healthcare. All of these features are basic aspects for an evolving society. For example, Switzerland holds the highest rate of happiness over the world which is also a possible reason for nearly 40% of residents being billionaires.

To conclude, having said that economic development is crucial, this is not to say that other factors do not contribute to nations’ success. Greater healthcare and social welfare, high standard of living and especially the stable and high percentage of happiness are root proofs which acknowledge a well-rounded nation.