ESSAY WRITING While we cannot control external circumstances, we can always adjust our actions to achieve our desired outcomes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? Use reasons and specific examples to justify your answer.

Internal and external influences play the determining role in helping people to accomplish expected results. Indeed, it is conspicuous that the control of external circumstances is impossible, but the adjusting of our actions can bring about sought-after outcomes. Personally speaking, I totally agree with this statement because of the following arguments.

The argument for the necessity of adjusting our actions is backed up by the following arguments. To elaborate, we can become more proactive in dealing with difficulties when we are flexible, not being rigid in any scenarios. Indeed, should there be any rain, people can not control the weather but they can avoid soaking to the skin by bringing along umbrellas. Furthermore, even failing in reaching the expected results, it is advisable they should look back, pinpointing potential mistakes and then correcting them. For example, after getting a low score in the Listening test, a student should subsequently practice other listening exercises to make significant headway to this skill. Only by the practice of learning through mistakes like this can students become more well – rounded in learning a foreign language.

However, there are some situations that external influences are too enormous for people to overcome, leading to no fruitful effects being reaped. Firstly, such elements have an irreversibly negative impact on people’s well – being. A natural disaster or unpredictably serious car crashes can grab people’s hopes of accomplishing something in their life. Suffering from injuries caused by road accidents, some are forced to quit their highly prospective jobs, and are in vegetative stage. Secondly, despite their efforts and determination, some specific scenarios simply do not allow people to showcase their talents. In the context of an economic crisis, workers can certainly be fired despite the inherent possession of outstanding talents and their determination. This is due to the company’s inability to pay salaries that workers are grabbed of their current stable, happy lives.

To sum up, although external influences are beyond our control, our actions can be properly modified so we can get the intended goals. Mentally preparing for any bad situations and learning to accept them is a significant part of us to become truly mature.