Even though doctors advise old people to get more exercise, many old people do not get enough. What are the reasons for this? What are some possible solutions for this?

It is clear that a majority of golden age people are not getting enough exercise while it is advised by doctors. This is mainly because elderly people may have more health problems than younger people. There are a number of solutions which could be implemented to deal with the lack of exercise in this age group.

Firstly, the reason for old people to get less exercise than what is expected for them by doctors is that they have often health problems such as heart disease, arthritis or lung pathology. In other words, their ability to practise any sport can be affected by their physical condition. Moreover, they can be scared by targetting any heart attack or amplifying any joint pain. Secondly, old person are reducing their exercise owing to their lack of motivation. It is obvious that aged people are usually more isolated. As a result, they might be less inspired to exercise regularely.

There are two effective solutions to the problem of the lack of exercise in elderly population. One way to tackle this is to develop some sport programs adapted to their health conditions, and abilities. By tayloring a personal program to one’s person, it can enhance the participation by reducing the risks and the scary feeling any elderly can have. Another method of dealing with this issue is to create some special groups of aged people to increase links and camaraderie between peers. This solution will hopefully increase their motivation.

In conclusion, regardless to the reasons for the lack of exercise in aged population, developping specific programs adapted to their health problems, and creating groups in order to favorise the motivation as well can be effective in promoting exersice in elderly group as it is advised by doctors.