Even though doctors advise old people to get more exercise, many old people do not get enough. What are the reasons for this? What are some possible solutions for this?

Given its countless benefits, regular physical activity is advised by doctors around the world. This is especially true with the elderly, since they tend to move less than other age groups, which, in turn, impacts their health negatively. Nonetheless, many old people fail to follow this advice. In this essay, I will explain why it is difficult for old people to exercise enough, and discuss how the elderly can be encouraged to lead less sedentary lives.

When our bodies age up, they become more prone to disease and disability, which often impairs our quality of life. For example, joint and bone diseases have a high incidence among the elderly, and their pain can be severe enough to make someone unable to move. Depression and other prevalent mental health issues can also make the geriatric population unmotivated to leave their houses and exercise. Additionally, some old people prefer to rest and do nothing because they wrongly believe that moving a lot at their age might be harmful.

Nevertheless, the problem is not impossible to solve. Instead of giving old people general advice about exercising, doctors can suggest specific workouts that are simple and suitable for those with orthopedic morbidities to perform. Furthermore, there should be open-air gatherings where the elderly can perform outdoor activities such as jogging or walking.

Despite medical recommendation, it is often hard for old people, especially those with chronic illnesses, to get enough physical activity. To change that, doctors should adjust their advice to suit the health conditions of their elderly patients, and society must plan events with the purpose of helping old people move more.