Even though education systems have improved globally, many people still cannot read or write. Discuss the disadvantages and suggest ways for government to solve this problem.

In contemporary societies, the quality of education has been enhanced, yet a large number of adults still struggle to read or write. This essay will shed light on the problems an illiterate individual might encounter and suggest some practical measures governments can take to counter this issue.

On the one hand, people who lack an ability to read or write might wrestle with various problems in their professional and daily life. Regarding occupational aspects, difficulties in reading or writing can burden individuals in the initial, vital stage: the recruitment process. These challenges specifically lead job applicants to mistakenly comprehend the information provided in job descriptions, such as employee benefits and organizational goals, ultimately resulting in these people getting rejected for performing poorly in interviews. Moreover, even if an illiterate person succeeds in getting a job, he or she might still fail to attain promotion opportunities. This stems from the fact that people like this are unable to read a document or write a report, meaning they lack the communication skills necessary at higher positions. In light of daily matters, a person unable to read or write might fail to enjoy public services. Illiterate people going to supermarkets or department stores, for instance, may rely on other people to understand a product’s benefits and long-term implications, since these types of information are often provided in words. As a matter of fact, writing or reading difficulties can reduce personal satisfaction.

To tackle this problem, the government needs to propose multi-pronged solutions. First, it is necessary that the state provides education for the communities living in rural regions, exposing them to reading and writing. There are now many people in distant areas who demand literacy to avoid struggling in daily life, and providing educational facilities and resources is a way to confer them this benefit. Second, the government can integrate online platforms about writing and reading techniques into its nation, since these platforms often provide free materials and have a vast array of learning courses to access. This, in turn, can reduce long-term investments in human teachers and physical resources, which can be better deployed for more advanced writing and reading lessons for further occupational and academic purposes.

In conclusion, while illiterate people might be faced with occupational and daily issues, holistic education and technological application are some feasible solutions to this dilemma.