Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped?

It is widely acknowledged that poverty is gradually becoming an alarming phenomenon. This essay is to pinpoint the causes behind this problem before outlining the effects.

On the one hand, the reasons behind poverty in society are definite. The first reason that leads to poverty is education. Education is the one that has enabled many people to overcome poverty, so poor countries are those who lack sufficient education among their population. For example, before 1945, VietNam had not gained independence, most VietNamese people, especially in rural areas, had little to no access to schooling so it caused them to be illiterate and worked in low-paying agricultural jobs. Another cause for this problem is the natural disaster. The regions of the world that are vulnerable to catastrophic natural disasters such as floods or droughts can suffer from significant obstacles to eradicate poverty. For instance, some countries have the border line next to the sea usually have to deal with natural disasters. In 2005 Bangladesh, an earthquake in Haiti devastated their economic status, which put them into poverty.

On the other hand, poverty is a concerning problem, there are many solutions. The first measure is to provide equal education. Equal education is needed because it is vital for all citizens to ensure that they are well-educated with basic knowledge and skills. To illustrate, when VietNam became independent, education improved for the economic development of the country and the consequence was the rate of GDP increase more than 50% between 1945 and at the moment. Furthermore, creating jobs is an essential measure to ameliorate this phenomenon. Creating jobs is a significant way to reduce poverty because it helps people have jobs and reform their income. When people have income, they can more easily get themselves out of poverty. For example, in GHana from 1991 to 2013, the expansion of employment in low-labor productivity sectors such as agriculture and small-scale urban wage employment led to a dramatic reduction in poverty.

In conclusion, poverty is one of the most serious phenomenon at the moment. Its main reasons are the quality of education and the natural disasters. But there are some solutions to reduce it, typical is to provide equal education and create jobs for the dwellers.