Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world

It is claimed that several languages are gradually becoming extinct. Some people believe that people do not have to worry about this trend because our lives will be more straightforward if fewer languages are used. Although I agree with the idea that using some major languages can help people access many top-notch education and work opportunities, I maintain that language disappearance is a critical issue as languages are a significant part of cultures.

On the one hand, some advocate for the idea that language loss has various advantages in simplification of communication, education and employment. This is because with some majority of languages in use globally, it can be easier for students studying abroad, experiencing international teaching methods and environments which stimulates their personal perspectives and horizons about cultural diversity. Moreover, employers can also seek job and promotion opportunities overseas, creating occupation mobility across every continent. For example, Asian students and workers can access the education system or job opportunities in some European countries or in The US when some limited languages are spread around the world such as English, French, Spanish. As a result, there is no language barrier in communication, education and work anymore, this can improve people’s lives quality and well-being in the future.

On the other hand, although the dominance of some major languages can benefit global citizens in education and job possibilities, I argue that language immersion is still a significant part of national identity and culture. The chief reason is that languages represent the history and culture of one country, and if they become extinct, their nation can lose their identity and cultural diversity between each nation. When some popular languages are used internationally, everywhere in the globe might be familiar such as thoughts, logic and voice. For instance, when students are taught in English, French or Chinese, they can only study about their dominant country’s history and cultures and neglect their mother nation. Whereas, in recent years, the world is embracing differences and diversity in people’s lifestyle and culture. Consequently, this development can harm the world’s mission and distract individuals from this pattern.

In conclusion, although language extinction can benefit people in accessing multicultural education and jobs worldwide. However, I maintain that this pattern is one of the crucial problems because it holds the identity and other significant values.