Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are different opinions regarding whether people should donate a set percent of their earnings to support charity monthly or avoid it. In my opinion, we should contribute to such institutions, due to the possibility of making the world a better place to live and to increase self-esteem.

Giving a donation every month can lead us to our dream world. Governments cannot provide a sufficient amount of resources to everyone. Thus, every person with financial means should help the most vulnerable. That is because even a minor donation plays an imperative role in environmental development and can even save a life. For instance, if 100 individuals donated $5 every month, the annual sum would be $6,000 , and exactly this figure confirms that even a small contribution will be part of something bigger.

Additionally, there is an opinion that assisting people in need can improve your self-appraisal and confidence. For example, a lot of volunteers have the feeling of gratitude and other positive emotions for a beneficial cause. Plus, you might feel valued in the community. In addition, some scientists state that our willingness to help the most vulnerable is in our DNA. And that is quite obvious, because nature intended for all species to sustain each other. All the aforementioned factors indicate that frequent donations can positively affect mental health.

In conclusion, I consider the statement that everybody must give a donation of a set percentage of their salary to be justifiably correct. Engaging in charity contributions is a wonderful way to improve our planet and, at the same time, to get positive emotions from the process.