Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts?

This essay is going to discuss both the pros and cons of the exposure to international media and it’s impact on the local culture

On one hand, it has many advatanges like learning multiple languages, understanding diverse cultures which help us survive in this world. In addition, reading other countries newspapers and magazines give us information regarding the political and economical situation of that country. For example, India started increasing it’s production after learning about China having the biggest economy in the world. Another example would be attracting tourists, Dubai has been the most upcoming city in the last decade and showing increase in tourists population every year. By exposing international media, foreigners are attracted by this and are interested to travel and come to places like this.

On the other hand, it has few disadvantages here and there like people of the local forgetting about their own culture and language. Exposing the local folks to the movies and films makes them adapt to the new culture and forget about their own. For example, the English lanuage is considered as the universal language of the world and many civilians are more fluent in the english language than their own mother tongue. Another example would be the cultural dances, In India the cultural dances is a huge thing. With the growing interest in western music and dances the locals of India forget about their own cultural dances like the Bharatanatyam and Kathak and overtime will fade away.

In conclusion, although exposure to International Media has an impact on the local culture it’s more of a good impact rather than a bad one as it’s highs outweigh its drawbacks.