Famous people are often idolised by young people. How do you feel about this? Do you think they are good examples to follow? Why or why not? Do you think that famous people have a responsibility to be good role models? Do you have an idol? What qualities make a good idol?

Nowadays a lot of teens and younger people put celebrities on a pedestal, seeking for someone to look up to and believing in their unconditional impeccability. Some people might argue that emulating famous personalities might be in favour of those who do that. In my opinion, it is not that beneficial neither for the admirers nor for the admired.

Firstly, being a celebrity doesn’t automatically make you a better person. Clearly, the validity of your opinions is not determined by the level of popularity you obtain. In addition, some media people are just not the best examples to follow, as they are imposing unhealthy narratives on the youth, while covering them with a smile. For instance, after quitting the industry, a lot of models open up about having an eating disorder, but, despite that, their fans do not percieve it as something bad because they have been idolising them for years.

Moreover, famous people often underestimate their influence, which makes them irresponsible. It is obvious that there is a difference between an Instagram blogger with a thouthand subscribers, and a YouTuber, whose persona has been ubiquitous for a decade. In spite of this, it seems as if they do not think at all before they start publicly speaking. Of course, no one is obligated to be responsible for their fans and follow their each step. However, it would be great for celebrities to be mindful and sensible.

On the other hand, life would be boring without idolising people. Besides, most popular people have some qualities that a good idol should have, such as kindness, or the ability to unite guide a lot of people, helping and supporting them. Although it all sounds nice, it is a very superficial way of looking at this subject.

To conclude, while idolising celebrities has always been a thing, it is not advantageous for the youth, as popular personas often impose harmful behaviours on their followers. Personally, I do not have an idol, and, honestly, I would not recommend anyone to have one.