Some people believe that universities should focus mainly on providing academic knowledge, while others argue that universities should also prepare students for the workplace.

There is an ongoing debate about whether higher education institutions should emphasis on preparing learners for the labour, whereas others contend that tertiary education should focus on equipping students with a well-rounded education. In my perspective, universities ought to prioritise providing students to comprehensive education, preparing them to become highly skilled graduates and have strong capabilities.

Supporters argues that tertiary education institutions play a paramount role in equipping learners with skilled competencies and leadership abilities before they take on huge responsibilities in the workplace. This is because they can provide with essential knowledge and practical experience, preparing them to hand complex challenges and make informed decisions in their careers. For instance, engineering students are more likely to encounter various complicated problems, such as those involving societal issues, where they must apply both technical expertise and leadership skills simultaneously. Thus, tertiary education not only helps students develop specialised skills but also foster critical thinking and adaptability, which are crucial for success the rapidly-changing working world.

Opponents believe that the preparing students for the workforce through universities may limit their exposure to broader subjects, reducing their abilities to think creatively and adapt to diverse situations. They argue that a well-rounded education, including arts and humanities, is fundamental for developing versatile individuals who can thrive in a variety of field. For example, Chinese people may have been successful in creating highly qualified specialists through higher education, giving them outstanding skills rather than a broader knowledge base. Therefore, this condition may limit their abilities to approach from different perspective.

In my opinion, the objectives of higher education institutions in preparing students for the workforce and equipping them with the comprehensive education are both very important. Hence, I believe that as long as the ultimate purpose of universities is to provide learners various benefits that help them cultivate necessary skills and alleviate their responsibilities, both aspects should be prioritised.