Fast food has become more common in recent years, What are the reasons and what are its effects on people?

Fast food outlets are ubiquitous in today’s world. There are some definite causes and effects of eating fast food that will be discussed in this essay.

One of the reasons is that a large number of people are able to consume junk food frequently, and it is available in most countries; thus, people can afford to eat these types of food easily. Another cause to consider is that fast food is tasty, and people can develop a dependence on this food. Meanwhile, food advertising can encourage people to buy sugary drinks, high-fat, high-calorie snacks, and other unhealthy foods.

Eating processed food has profoundly detrimental impacts on individuals’ health. It can lead to overeating because there are some chemicals inside fast food that promote people to eat and drink more. Besides this effect, the consumption of processed food paves the way for a sedentary lifestyle; therefore, the majority of people avoid regular exercise and eating a balanced diet. Another main effect of this trend is health-related issues. People who are passionate about eating unhealthy meals suffer from diabetes, high blood pressure, and digestive system disorders because of the high amount of sugar, salt, and other unhealthy substances in food and drinks.

In conclusion, although a large percentage of people are addicted to fast food, governments and other officials should raise awareness about the dire consequences of consuming this food and take action to tackle the negative aspects of fast food consumption by a plethora of individuals.