Fewer people are reading books nowadays, especially among the younger generation. What are the causes of this trend? What solutions can you suggest to encourage more people to read?

Book readership has declined significantly in few years.This essay will examine how the social media and streaming applications contributed in this trend and also suggest the responsibilities of parents and schools to address this issue of the habot of reading books.

The main causes is that people spending their free time with their smartphones.They use social media for their entertainment purpose and found it more convenient than books.Social media gave them new experiences and multiple content for enjoyment whille books reading fixed on one content which makes the readers bored.Another motive is that young adults utilizing applications like youtube,tiktok,instagram and facebook for streaming purpose.Families spent most of their time on netflix watching movies which relax them and let the story come to them whiile on the other hand reading books will have to imaging the characters and story.Viewing movies requires less effort then reading.

One solution is for the schools to encourage student for reading more.Schools have to dictate a specific time for this activity.As a result students will take interest in it which will make their reading skill good.Another appoach to tackle this iisue is for families to set aside some time for reading.If parents turned off their devices and encourage children for reading so it will be a normal family routine.For example,20% of families reading books before going to bed.

In conclusion,the habit of reading books decreased due to these root cause of social media and use of youtube,snapchat etc.However,schools and families can encourage people by making reading enjoyable.