Fewer people are visiting shops to make their purchases. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, there is a notable decline of customers visiting retail shops to buy commodities. The benefits of this shift is basically efficacy and rise of e-commerce that is fueled by the advent of modern technology. conversely, the negative aspect is decline in growth of local traders and lack of diversity.

There is no doubt that modern technology has altered the landscape of businesses both locally and globally. The rise of applications and mobile wallets that enhance seamless transactions has further catalyzed this trend. Furthermore, online purchases are efficient since no physical movement, which may be hectic, exposing one to insecurity. On the other hand, e-commerce has bridged geographical barriers enhancing quality and variety. For instance, online applications like Alibaba have played a significant role in major business platforms, giving customers quality and options. Therefore, adapting technology has defied distance, inconvenience and proven as a practical method.

On the flip side, there are downsides associated with the reliance of technology by the local traders. Major business enthusiasts hold physical shops in major localities, displaying a variety of items. This shift has led to a decline in their growth, since lack of profit leads to a decline in their growth and eventual closure. In addition, the economy of a country faces a major threat, since the pillars at the basic level hardly generate income. For instance, second hand cloth business in Kenya is facing a major threat since most consumers are relying heavily on current trends and sites that ship and facilitate online sales. Thus, local shops remain redundant due to this effect.

In conclusion, the inclination of consumer culture from physical purchase to online sales is noteworthy, primarily due to technology. Therefore, the ultimate effect of this wave is efficacy and convenience, whereas the negative aspect is decline in economy and dwindling local businesses