Fewer young people read books nowadays. What are the causes of this? What are the effects?

Today, the number of booklovers has decreased, especially among younger generations. While this can be attributed to spending excessive time on social media and lacking interest in reading and self-improvement, different problems arise as a result of this situation, such as educational lag and limited perspective on the world.

One of the major contributors of aforementioned issue is social media addiction. As many people now have their own digital device, mainly a phone, they often spend time extravagantly on it, leading them to waste their valuable time. As a result of overusing social media, people think they do not have any time to read a book. Futhermore, another driving factor of this is inattention to reading and self-development. Young people usually do not try to improve themselves, nor do they have interest in reading, meaning they may miss the opportunities for personal growth. Without improvement individuals might struggle to reach their full potential. In the long run, this can impact on their success, fulfillment and overall well-being as well.

Sadly, the lack of interest in reading books among youth can have subtle yet far reaching effects. First, a decline in younger generations reading books can result in a lack of educational knowledge, meaning they fall behind and are less intelligent than children in other countries. Being knowledgeable is considered essential for national progress and economic growth. It’s for this reason that many developed countries place a special emphasis on improving reading books among people. A decline in reading can also hinder the development of a global perspective. This is because reading is a major driver of broad viewpoint. When there are fewer young people reading books, this can lead them to remain narrow-minded, which may potentially make it harder for them to understand global issues.

In conclusion, the main factors deterring youngsters from reading books are social media obsession and stagnation in personal growth and reading. This lack of interest can have serious implications for society, resulting in a shortage of knowledgeable young people and limiting perspective.