Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, movies and video games that contain cruel violence have become well-known more and more every day. Many people argue that they have a negative effect on society and should be banned, whereas others believe that they are just a way to relax, they do not carry anything bad. I side with those who think that films and computer games with violence only can entertain individuals who need new extreme emotions.

On the other hand, some argue that violence films and movies have a damaging impact on society, especially for the youngest. Young people are still developing their psyche, and do not know about what is right behavior and what is wrong for them. They can become more violent and copy the behavior of their favourite character and try to repeat their actions. However, it is the opinion of middle-aged people who do not know more about contemporary life and see only the negative sides of development technology. Moreover, none of the individuals have yet seen situations when teenagers killed their age-mates to reenact scenes from action movies.

On the other hand, supporters of violent entertainment argue that it is harmless for the majority of the population, and I agree. Millions of the youngest consume such media without becoming more aggressive and clearly understand the difference between fiction and reality. In addition, watching films or playing video games can help relieve stress and explore emotions which they can not experience in ordinary life. Moreover, if this content was banned, it would restrict artistic freedom and damage a huge industry that provides employment to thousands of people.

To sum up, although violent films and movies may influence a small number of vulnerable individuals, I believe that for most people they are simply a form of entertainment and can even help reduce stress.