Financial education should be compulsary for school students. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a suggestion that money management should be a mandatory subject for students at school. While financial classes would deepen students’ understanding of money, I believe that other subjects available in the school curriculum should be prioritized instead.

Incorporating financial education into the syllabus can prove beneficial for children to understand economic affairs. When they learn how to earn and spend their income, they may grow into financially-literate adults in the future, dealing with monetary cases wisely and preventing waste. Due to the unavailability of these lessons, many students fail to make their living independently and form dependence on their parents’ money, which persists into adulthood.

Despite this tangible benefit of money-wise lessons, I tend to see their inclusion into school classes in a negative light. First and foremost, these classes can encourage materialistic behavior in many students who are prone to misallocating their financial resources instead of focusing on rational spending. When only taught about money, children may also endanger core values such as friendship and compassion towards others in favor of concentrating on wealth accumulation. When money is the primary concern, these signs of humanity may become secondary and fade into insignificance.

Instead, the education of more important subjects – such as STEM classes – should command more attention from educators. Subjects like Math, science, and physics can prepare students for future life better, with foundational knowledge instilled into their minds. For example, Uzbek students equipped with strong Mathematical background are better positioned for governmental employment in various organizations such as banks and ministries, compared to those with limited understanding of this subject. Therefore, more emphasis should be placed on the acquisition of core subjects before money classes gain any social endorsement.