Food waste is a growing global problem, contributing to environmental issues and economic losses. What are the primary causes of excessive food waste and what practical steps can individuals, businesses, and governments take to minimize it?

In modern era, it is argued that food waste is a growing global problem, which effects strongly on environment and economic. This essay will examine the main causes of excessive food and possible solutions of this issue.

Initially, the main cause of food waste is increasing overconsumption. People usually buy unnecessary food, which has been in the fridge for months, and than is thrown in the trash. For example, almost everyone remembers that jam, which our grandmother made many years ago, and nobody knows how old it is. Additionally, food companies, especially cafes, produce more food than clients can consume, and because of the expiration date, it should be thrown. Thus, all of these factors lead to overconsumption and excessive food.

However, everyone may do some small things to avoid food waste. For instance, individuals can plan their meals for 3 days, for a week, or even for a month. In other words, by planning our meals, we will buy only necessary ingredients. Consequently, only small amount of food will be thrown. Moreover, cafes might produce less number of items. For example, one cafe may calculate that average 500 croissants are consumed by people in a day, so they may made every day about 550-600 croissants, not 1000. As a result, food waste and economic losses may be minimised.

In conclusion, growing overconsumption and overproduction may be the main causes of food waste. However, consequences of food waste might be avoided by planning daily meals and production. Therefore, everyone may take these small steps to minimise waste of food.