Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The debate over the switch to alternative sources of energy is a polarizing one. While this approach offers certain disadvantages, I believe that its long-term benefits are ultimately more significant.

On the one hand, changing to alternatives can lead to several drawbacks in the initial stage. It is argued that experimenting methods for exploiting renewables places heavy financial pressure on governments. Exploiting renewable energy involves researching viable technologies, implementing pilot projects, and scaling up successful solutions which requires high upfront investment in costly technology and additional infrastructure, leading to sudden increases in public spending as a result. However, I believe this pressure is only temporary regarding our current progress. Initial costs are high due to experimentation, but costly trial and error is no longer required once effective solutions are identified. Recent advances in solar and wind technologies, together with improvements in energy storage systems, have made renewable energy more efficient and affordable, making costs decline rapidly. Thus, this progress helps to reduce the strain put on governments.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that the use of renewable sources of energy offers benefits in the long run. First, the use of renewable energy significantly mitigates air pollution. Utilizing renewables such as solar or wind power which come from inexhaustible sources contribute greatly to reducing air contamination. Unlike fossil fuels, this type of energy does not require combustion to generate energy, leading to much lower levels of CO2 and gas emissions. As a result, less toxic pollutant is released into the air which makes it much cleaner and safer to breathe. This thus helps citizens to avoid some respiratory diseases. Furthermore, cutting down on using fossil fuels alleviates resource depletion. Reducing reliance on non-renewables and starting to utilize renewables drives people to avoid exploiting exhaustible sources and instead, using energy from sources that never run out. Therefore, the approach safeguards energy availability, securing vital energy supplies for future generation as a result.

In conclusion, although the switch to using renewables may result in a heavy strain on government budgets , its merits, particularly easing air pollution and resource depletion, carry more weight. These merits in the long run can positively improve air quality and avoid resource exhaustion, suggesting that renewable energy is a feasible and sustainable solution.