global environmental issue is a responsability of rich nations not of poor. do you agree or desagree?

In recent years, environmental degradation has become a great debate around the world. Some people believe that only rich countries should take up the responsibility for conserving the environment.

From my perspective, rich governments should invest their money in methods to tackle the pollution problem and to improve the production system. However, developing countries should be kept under control and they should be forced to respect more the environment.

To begin with, wealthy countries should take up the responsibility because they have the economic resources. If they invested just a small portion of the public funds in developing new ways to produce in a more environmentally friendly way, industry emissions would drop. For instance, they could promote green ways to produce energy, such as nuclear or wind energy and offer economic benefits to companies that choose renewable energies over carbon. Additionally, governments could invest in improving the recycling system to make it more efficient. As a consequence, the trash island in the Pacific Ocean would stop expanding so dramatically and the general level of pollutions in the states would decrease.

Nevertheless, developing countries should be held responsible for the increasing pollution levels and should be forced to respect environmental policies. In fact, poor states aim to boost economic growth with no extra liquidity that could be invested in developing methods to produce respecting the environment. Industrialism is happening in developing countries, which significantly emits greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, destroying habitats. For instance, India has produced the highest amount of greenhouse gases since the industrial revolution. To tackle the problem, a production cap could be imposed in non-friendly countries, even if it may lead to an economic regression. Additionally richer states could provide financial aid to these growing states, invest their funds in building industries that pollute less.

To conclude, protecting the Earth is a responsibility of both wealthy countries, which should provide capital to enhance the recycling system and support renewable energy, but also of developing regions. The latter should be economically supported to build eco-friendly industry and at the same time a cap on production must be introduced if the pollution levels keep increasing dangerously.